To the Coast

On December 30th, Bianca and I boarded an early morning plane to Barranquilla. From there we caught a bus to Cartagena, because this way was cheaper than flying direct to Cartagena. We checked in to our hostel, then sought out some badly needed pedicures.

DSC_1001

Our hostel, Casa Mara

Just a note on how small of a world it is. Back in December of 2012, I couchsurfed in Thessaloniki with an awesome guy named Giorgos. I found him on the couchsurfing website. He had spent a lot of time in Peru, and spoke Spanish and was willing to put me up for a night as I traveled through on my way back to Georgia (the country). He was a super nice guy, and made my one and only couchsurfing experience great. In November, a few weeks after I had gone to Cartagena the first time, he messaged me on Facebook saying he had seen some of my pictures and asking if I was in Colombia. I said I was, and he told me he had been living in Cartagena for about 3 years, running a Greek restaurant with a friend of his. I googled his restaurant, Grecia Cafe y Suvlaki, and it popped up on Trip Advisor, complete with a picture of him in the restaurant with a customer. The restaurant was located in the Walled City, where I had stayed the first time, and I had surely walked past it more than once without even knowing he was in there.

So now that I was back, we stopped in to say hi and test out the food. The restaurant was super busy, but Giorgos had time for a quick chat, and we managed to snag a table pretty quickly. Even though we both love Colombian food, Bianca and I had to admit that those gyros were easily in the top 3 of the best meals we’d had in the country.

Leave a Reply

